Pendidikan Teknik Elektro

web site resmi unesa http://unesa.ac.id.

Pendidikan Teknik Elektro

by Tri Sutrisno.

Pendidikan Teknik Elektro

pendidikan teknik elektro.

Pendidikan Teknik Elektro

Elektro how,how,how..... himatektro unggul...

Pendidikan Teknik Elektro

Aktivitas para calon mahasiswa.

Monday, March 26, 2012

Sumioni initial impressions... and pizza!

Basically what I look like when I try to play video games
I debated calling this article "why I suck at video games" but that would be defeatist, now wouldn't it? But let me take a moment to me recall a recent scenario for you:

I'm playing Sumioni, a PS Vita downloadable title, for review. Being the good, timely reviewer I am, I dive right into it, playing whenever I have a free moment. Enter the first boss of the game: A glowing, floating eyeball thing with pointy projectiles, that also happens to be the final boss for the game's first ending (yes, ending – I'll clarify momentarily). You know, the first and second tries don't really count, since you have to get used to the enemy's patterns, right? Well, yours truly probably clocked in at about 10 tries before throwing in the towel and handing the shiny black handheld over to my husband, who hadn't touched the game before that moment. I throw him into the deep end and have him restart the level I'm currently on – why waste time replaying earlier levels just so he can learn the ropes? 

Shaun beat that boss in two tries. That's once to figure out all of the game's controls and the boss's attack patterns, and a second time to get 'er done, as they say. I knew my husband was a fiend when it comes to games (you should see him play DotA...), but I was not prepared for immense gap in our skill levels. Does that mean that Sumioni is disgustingly hard, or even more difficult than your average platformer? Well... probably not, because I already knew I was pretty bad at gaming. But it makes for a good story, eh? 

That said, I've only gone through the first two endings of the game so far (with help from Shaun, of course). You get a rating at the end of each level (which so far have only taken about 2-4 minutes to complete) which will dictate how you will progress on the level "tree." There are a total of six endings, the first being the easiest to obtain and that last, which I assume is the "best," being the hardest. You'll need to get a lot of 2 and 3 star level ratings to follow the tree down to the better endings, which means replaying the initial levels a lot of times. The fact that the game doesn't really tell you how it scores you at the end of each level is a little confusing, but from what I gather it's based on the usual stuff: how much damage you've incurred and how long it took you to clear the level. 

Graphically, I'm quite fond of the game. Many have compared it to Okami, and it's true that they're both based on the Japanese art form known as sumi-e, but Okami was so much more colorful and vibrant than Sumioni, so I think in the end the comparison is pretty arbitrary. The backgrounds are rather sparse, much like sumi-e paintings, but so far have been pretty varied between levels. I've been seeing a lot of the same enemies, though... Let's hope that changes as I progress further. 

And what self-respecting Japanese game
would be complete without a cute princess?
Sumioni utilizes the front and back touch pads in a continuation of the sumi-e theme by allowing you to draw platforms and execute spells by swiping the screen as if your fingertip were a paintbrush. At the same time, you'll be controlling your demon's movements with the analog stick or directional buttons, and jumping and attacking with x and square, respectively (I find I prefer using up on the analog stick to jump, though). When your ink meter runs out, and it will run out, you'll need to rub the back touch pad in order to recover ink. Let tell you, this happens a lot. I don't know if it's the way I play, but in boss battles in particular, my pattern of actions goes something like this: thunder magic, fire magic, swipe swipe swipe rear touch pad. Rinse and repeat. You'll need to be fast, and regaining your ink feels so painfully slow... It's a fun mechanic but I'm finding it a little hard to get used to. For one, it gets tiring swiping so furiously after a while! Drawing platforms on the screen to evade enemies and position yourself for optimal attacks never gets old, though. 

From what I'm hearing the game doesn't take more than 6-8 hours to complete, so I should be able to finish my playthrough and have my review up before the week is out. Until then, feel free to ask any questions if you're at all interested in this title and I'll do my best to answer them!

Oh, wait. Did someone say... pizza?


Yup, that's right! And not any pizza. Sumioni pizza. The few blogs I read that covered this interesting collaboration seemed rather disgusted by the prospect, but I have to say, if I lived in Japan, I would've ordered that pizza the day it was released. As it stands, it the promotion was just concluded yesterday, unfortunately.

This awesome pizza not only has squid ink sauce to make it look like it was splattered with ink, but also those funny looking pointed crust pieces that are meant to look like demon's horns, or so the advertisement says. Other toppings include cheese (of course), basil, tomatoes, tomato sauce, and actual squid. 

So, the big question is: Would YOU eat it? I'm personally salivating at the very thought. 

Saturday, March 24, 2012

Let's celebrate Theatrhythm's impending localization with some merchandise

I suppose we all knew it'd happen eventually, but if you haven't heard, Theatrhythm Final Fantasy will be coming out in the US and Europe sometime this summer! How's that for great news? To celebrate, hit the play button on your favorite Final Fantasy track and take a look at some of this awesome merchandise I managed to wrangle up!

First of all,  I have to say I've been warming up to the cutesy art style used in the game. It first appeared in a Kingdom Hearts cell phone game in Japan, and I never found myself very partial to it... But the more I see, the more I find myself starting to like it. I mean, who can resist drinking their favorite beverage of choice out of one of these Theatrhythm mugs?

You can purchase it online here!
Or how about a tumbler, for when you'd rather your drink available on the go?

source
I personally like the color on the tumbler, but prefer the simplistic design of the mug. But it's hard to pass up chocobos!

But better yet, perhaps you already have a trusty water bottle you'd like to spruce up a bit? In Japan they have bottle cases like these all over the place:

source
Love the addition of the plush music note!

There is certainly a lot of drink-related Theatrhythm Final Fantasy merchandise, isn't there? But never fear, the usual cute keychains have also made an appearance:



I'll be honest – that's not my favorite Final Fantasy moogle design (I'm actually partial to the more rabbit-like moogles from the Ivalice Alliance titles, but don't tell anyone I said so), but the chocobo is pretty darn adorable. I particularly like the contrast of the yellow and blue.

And last but not least, we have a special item that I could only find on Kuma's Mad Dog Blog, a Square Enix blog dedicated to their merchandise (the previous two photos were also taken from there):


A tote bag?? Better yet, an unreleased tote bag?? It's a little known fact on the internet that I am actually obsessed with tote bags. They're good for groceries, books... everything, really! Ok, I'm a little obsessed. But I do love something that's both cute and functional, and tote bags really do fit the bill. According to Kuma's Mad Dog Blog, where this image was posted on March 15th, it's a brand new item, and currently no more information is available, so we'll have to wait and see when and where this is released. Admittedly, it is a little on the plain side, but I think owning a Theatrhythm Final Fantasy tote bag trumps all. I think I'm going to make it my personal mission to make sure I get my hands on this lovely thing.

Do any of these items catch your fancy? What would be your ultimate Theatrhythm merchandise? I wouldn't mind some stickers...

Monday, March 19, 2012

Why I'm both intrigued and annoyed by Code of Princess

Before today, I hadn't paid any attention to the upcoming Japanese 3DS title, Code of Princess, but as soon as this box art appeared, it immediately went on my radar.


Is that not a gorgeous illustration? Generally I don't like very busy box art, but I love the colors and attention to detail in this one. Above all, the character designs have me very intrigued – though I am decidedly not in favor of the surprised female knight with bikini armor (more on that later). 

It's always a little thrilling to learn about a game for the first time from its box art. There's nothing more fun than browsing though a game store and coming across a title that looks interesting but you've never heard of, then rushing home to Google it as soon as possible. ... What's that? Yes, I am still living in 1999 and do not have internet on my phone. 

Of course, finding new boxart when you're already browsing the internet is a different thing altogether, but no less fun. I've learned that Kinu Nishimura, the woman behind the illustrations of 9 Hours, 8 Persons, 9 Doors and the more recent Virtue's Last Reward, was in charge of this gorgeous cover as well as the character designs for Code of Princess. No wonder I like them! 

I particularly like the pink haired lady in the middle.

Nothing quite like a swashbuckling guy with big pants and feathers in his hair.
But even with all these exciting character designs, I still manage to find something to gripe about. Brace yourself for my biggest beef with Code of Princess:


Where on earth do I start? Well, admittedly, her sword and cloak are both pretty amazing and display the kind of detail that I love, but my positive comments end there. Not only is she wearing less clothing than is physically possible, but Kinu decided her only armor would be in the form of gauntlets, which is pretty much worthless considering how little else she's wearing. And, though the box art for the game features this lady, who is the main character Code of Princess, in a relatively active fighting stance, this official art, which has already been made into a resin figurine in Japan and is the most popular result when searching Google for Code of Princess images, is about as passive as it gets. She's not only holding her sword in a pathetic excuse for a defensive pose, but she also has a frightened expression on her face, with her arm extended backward in a way that sexualizes her more by rendering her powerless, if that's even possible. I hate to dwell on issues such as these, and of course I know Kinu Nishimura has done her fair share of "sexy" illustrations (999's Lotus, anyone?), but this image takes the cake for portraying a female main character in the worst possible light.

Well, now that I've gotten that off my chest... Is there anything else good I can say about this game? For those who aren't familiar with it, Code of Princess is a 2D brawler that shares many similarities with Guardian Heroes. It also touts an extensive 4-player multiplayer mode, and I've got to say, even the gameplay looks pretty interesting:


Mark that one down in the books, folks: I said even the gameplay looks interesting!

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Datable Monsters in Rune Factory 4

I haven't blogged about it yet, for the past 2 weeks or so I've been playing Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility every spare minute I've had. I can't get enough! And it was only $5!

I'll elaborate more in a future post, but suffice it to say I'm hopelessly enamored with these Japanese "life sim" games, as we've already seen with my recent infatuation with Atelier Rorona. Sure, Harvest Moon and Atelier Rorona aren't exactly the same, as Rorona has both very specific time restraints, alchemy, and battle elements, but fundamentally they're both hopelessly cute time sinks that are about as innocuous as games can get (aside from some creepy undertones in Atelier Rorona...).

I'm a bit of a sucker for this kind of art.
And that dragon in the background??
As such, I've always had my eye on the Rune Factory series, but never really delved into them for two main reasons: 1. they didn't have playable female characters like many of the Harvest Moon titles, and 2. I just couldn't figure out what installment to start with. #2 is actually a reason why I also hadn't tried Harvest Moon until now... Do you know just how many there are? But thankfully a super sale and some good timing made the decision for me.

But now that I know more about Rune Factory 4, I'm almost positive this is going to be the entry that gets me into the series whenever it comes out in English. As Natsume has been very diligent about localizing Rune Factory titles, I'm sure we'll be seeing it on North American 3DSs somewhere between 6 months to a year after the Japanese release in July (a bold prediction – let's see if I'm right!).

So what's got me so hyped for Rune Factory 4, when I've never even played a Rune Factory game? As the title suggests, I've got two words for you: datable monsters. Actual monsters you fight in the game will morph into humans for you to date and eventually marry, if you so choose. Pretty cool, huh? I know, I've got some weird interests...

So far, only one female and one male monster character have been revealed. Here they are in their duel forms:




In all honestly, I'm not particularly impressed by their character designs, aside from the fact that the male character, Dylas, looks like a punk rock unicorn in his monster form (which is all kinds of awesome). His human form isn't much to look at, unfortunately, and I find it odd that they decided to keep his ears and tail but have Kohaku, the girl, appear 100% human. Dylas looks like he'll be the token fisherman, while Kohaku will probably be a quiet girl who enjoys spending her time tending to flowers... Not like we haven't seen that before. Of course, you'll have to find them in the wild and beat their monster forms before they'll be datable as humans.

Aside from the datable monsters, which pretty much sold me from the get-go, Rune Factory 4 will finally offer the series' first fully-playable female character. Unlike Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny, which only let you play as a girl after beating the main story as a man, Rune Factory 4 will allow you to choose your gender right at the beginning. Hopefully this means that there will be just as many datable bachelors available to players who choose to be a girl as there are bachelorettes for players who opt to be a guy. Of course I'm perfectly happy to play as a male character in a game, but as I'm a sucker for otome titles, any game that has some sort of romantic element added with women in mind gets extra points in my book.

Other interesting additions for this installment include the ability to date someone you're interested in before marrying them... Very realistic, no? Not so realistic is the reported ability to communicate with dragons. But really, there isn't anything you need to know either than the fact that monsters are datable in Rune Factory 4. Right?

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Chic Pixel is One Year Old!

Boy, how time flies! I'm not really keeping track, but I happened to notice just today that I've already passed the one year mark of blogging here at Chic Pixel! How about that?

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank all of you who have ever taken the time to read my words. Better yet, if you've ever left a comment or (gasp!) actually come back to read more... Well, it really is you who keeps this little space going! If it weren't for all of you, I probably would've thrown in the towel long ago (well, maybe not entirely, but this place would be pretty sad if I were here rambling to myself for a whole year).

Look who I met at a local convention this weekend! If it weren't for
Sailor Moon, this blog probably wouldn't exist!
I'd like to take this opportunity to get some feedback from you, readers. Are there certain types of posts of mine you enjoy more than others? Games or anime/manga (though I'm already pretty skewed in one direction there...)? Japan Envy? Anything you'd like to see me tackle this year that I haven't written about yet? If you'd feel more comfortable dropping me an email rather than commenting here, you can do so at apricotsushi(at)gmail(dot)com.

As for personal goals, I hope to write much more frequently this year. I'm going to strive to do 3 posts a week, and hopefully work my way up to a whole 5 a week, with some perhaps being short "round-up" posts of things I'm currently interested in or news that I find particularly exciting.

Your feedback is very much appreciated – I will most certainly take it into consideration when planning my posts in the upcoming months! 

Sunday, March 4, 2012

The Vita Post

The things the King of All Cosmos says will never get old.
As you may be aware, a certain beefy little handheld finally made its way overseas on the 23rd (22nd if you live pretty much anywhere but Australia) of February. What do we call it? The PS Vita? Playstation Vita? PSV? Or simply... Vita?

Well, regardless of how you prefer to refer to it (I'll be calling it the "PS Vita"), it is definitely one fine piece of hardware. You may already know where this post is leading, but to cut to the chase: Yes, I bought one. Not only bought, but Shaun and I preordered an Australian one, making it the first console I've ever preordered, let alone picked up on launch day.

My reasoning for this was twofold: My colleagues over at VGW were heckling me to get one, mostly due to the fact that they needed someone with my area of gaming expertise (read: someone who'll play all those weird Japanese games) who could pick up a few of the titles in the console's mighty launch lineup. Not only that, but I'll begrudgingly admit that I only just bought my first PSP last year, and it was used. Shaun and I absolutely love the PSP, and if the PS Vita turns out to be half as good as that system was, I want to give Sony my support (read: cold, hard cash).

Factoring in some exciting titles to look forward to and the fact that Shaun unblinkingly responded with a simple "yes" when I told him I was thinking of getting one meant that come 10 am on Thursday the 23rd, a beautiful new PS Vita was all ours for the unboxing.

Title-wise, I got hard copies of Touch My Katamari and Shinobido 2, along with a download voucher for BlazBlue: Continuum Shift Extend, all for reviews. As Touch My Katamari was the main launch title I was interested in, I haven't felt the need to purchase any of my own games yet.

By the way, have you seen how small these cartridges are?

Teeny tiny!
The cases are extremely small and thin, too. Makes sense, considering that
they don't contain a manual as a rule (anyone who is interested in holding a
funeral to commemorate the death of the physical game manual is more than
welcome to join me).
I tried to get a few pictures of the system itself, but unfortunately it's a bit too glossy for me to get a proper photo of. But you all have seen it already, right?

I was told many times before I actually had the PS Vita in my own grubby hands that the system really shines when you get some hands-on time with it. I have to say, I wholeheartedly agree. Though the system looks a little bulky, and it does have some weight to it, it feels great to hold and even better to play with. The directional and command buttons have a real weight when you press them, and the dual analog sticks feel great, albeit a little small. Touch screen functionality is integrated seamlessly into the system's control panel, and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the in-built camera.

Basically, the PS Vita is my equivalent of hardware porn. I was still waiting for my games to come in on launch day, but I'll be darned if I didn't just pick up the Vita and turn it on 10 times over the course of the afternoon, just so I could hold it. Yes, my husband thinks I'm crazy.

But what about the launch lineup?

The built-in screenshot function is amazing, if a little hard to execute in some games.
In this screen I'm playing as the pink girl, Platinum, my new favorite BlazBlue character. 
Of course, you won't find me commenting on such AAA releases as Uncharted: Golden Abyss or the latest shiny Wipeout racing game, but I can tell you about the few Japanese titles I'll be reviewing.

Touch My Katamari – This was, without a doubt, the title I was most looking forward to. Touch My Katamari is very standard Katamari fare, so if you're a fan of the series, there's a lot to like here. I don't want to spoil my review, so click the link to check it out if you're interested. Needless to say, I really enjoyed my time with the game, but it was much too short. I beat every single level the game had to offer (and there were a number of repeats from past Katamari titles) in just about 3 hours. Disappointing, but boy, does it look great on the Vita!


BlazBlue: Continuum Shift Extend – A beautiful portable version of BlazBlue: Contiuum Shift. It not only contains the DLC characters from the PS3/Xbox 360 versions, but another new character and dozens of modes to sink time into. The only problem I've had with it so far are the load times, and a nasty bug that causes the screen to freeze randomly when a battle is loading while playing in arcade mode (this has happened to me every time I've played arcade mode). I'm not sure if this problem is something wrong with my download or not, but I did find someone with a similar issue over in the GameFAQs forums. I've contacted Aksys PR to see what's up. Review forthcoming.

Shinobido 2: Revenge of Zen – I honestly don't know if there's anything good I can say about this one. It looks and feels like a PS2 title, and the controls are finicky and annoying. The ninja gameplay mechanic is fun, but this title doesn't do anything that the original Shinobido or the Tenchu titles didn't do better. In fact, Shaun played Shinobido on the PS2, and agrees that Shinobido 2 feels like more of a glorified port than a sequel. Review forthcoming.

All in all, I'm more than happy with my Vita. The possibility of playing PSP titles downloaded from the PSN with enhanced graphics is another great bonus – I even purchased a copy of Half-Minute Hero just so I could see how great it would look. Though the battery life is nowhere near good enough and there isn't an amazing new must-have JRPG for the system yet, I do not in any way regret purchasing the system on launch.

Did any of you grab a PS Vita, or are you thinking of getting one? If you're on the fence and want to ask me some questions, feel free to leave them in the comments!

Monday, February 27, 2012

"Poison has a Stick" may be the best idea for a joystick mod ever

Let me profess that I literally know next to nothing about joystick modification. In fact, I'm not much of a fighting game fan in general, though I am known to rock a pretty solid Lee in Tekken and Arc Systems Works is always on my radar for their sleek titles (I'm looking at you, BlazBlue Continuum Shift Extend Vita). In fact, I can honestly say that I've never played more than 5 minutes of a Street Fighter game (or Final Fight, for that matter), and as such I know next to nothing about the intriguing, pink-haired character known as Poison who will be making an appearance in the roster of Street Fighter X Tekken... Except for the fact that she is famous for being a transgendered female character. Which I think is thoroughly awesome, if you had any doubts.

Long-time games writer shidoshi (who you may know as @pikoeri) echoes my sentiments – he even got the chance to interview Yoshinori Ono about Poison, and he refrained from any of the usual snide remarks that most so-called games "journalists" make when talking about her. I highly suggest checking the interview out if you haven't seen it already.

But now you must allow me to get right into the meat of this post: the beautiful Poison-themed joystick mod shidoshi has created, aptly named "Poison has a Stick":


Beautiful, is it not? I'd play a fighter with that joystick any day of the week. For clarification on the little innuendo you may have picked up on regarding the interesting placement of the joystick, here are shidoshi's thoughts in his own words:
"[...] This stick wasn’t made with the intention of making fun of the character Poison or her “is or isn’t she transgender” status, nor was it done simple for some sort of cheap “it’s a trap” connection. I mean, of course—the design was absolutely done in good fun and with a lot of humor—but it was done in celebration of the character of Poison, not in mocking her or what she is." (source)

Now excuse me while I go brush up on my fighting skills so I can justify a snazzy joystick purchase – it's just too bad this one's one of a kind!

UPDATE: shidoshi posted over on his Twitter this amazing picture of none other than Yoshinori Ono holding the aforementioned joystick at a Street Fighter X Tekken event! How awesome is that?

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Manga Impressions: The Legend of Sakura Hime

I don't post about manga nearly enough on this blog, and that needs to be rectified! What better way to do so then by writing up some thoughts on a recent title I've read? I've always been a fan of Arina Tanemura's iconic style, but have never gone the extra step and picked up a copy of one of her titles. Lucky for me the local library had volumes one through four of her latest series, The Legend of Sakura Hime!


The Legend of Sakura Hime is an ongoing shōjo manga currently being serialized in the monthly manga anthology Ribon in Japan. The story follows Sakura, a teenage girl who's been engaged to the prince Oura ever since she was a child. Trouble is, it turns out she's also a descendant of the demon Princess Kaguya. It's up to her to fulfill her role by wielding the mythical sword Chizakura and destroying all demons that threaten to harm the world she knows and loves. Upon learning her true identity, however, certain forces, including Prince Oura, would rather see her killed!

Lots of awesome action shots, including blood and even death, which is pushing the
envelope for a girls' anthology like Ribon! 
If you can't tell, I am rubbish when it comes to writing plot summaries. The Legend of Sakura Hime is pretty standard shōjo fare, but with gorgeous illustrations, more action and darker themes than usually seen in manga aimed at teenage girls, and ample romance, I definitely recommend it to anyone who has a penchant for shōjo. That said, I'm happy I didn't purchase it – it's great for a light-hearted read and had a number of cute scenes that reminded me of that giddy feeling I get when a kiss or embrace is drawn both beautifully and evocatively, but in the end the whole thing feels a tad shallow and run-of-the-mill plot-wise, which probably won't do much to impress more discerning eyes.

Prince Oura's brother? Cousin? So memorable I've already forgotten.
He hides his true feelings for Sakura under an easy-going facade.
Let it be known that I have a weakness for playboy male characters. 
I'm not trying to knock the series – The Legend of Sakura Hime is chock-full of romance, intrigue, and action, and is a great way to spend an afternoon for fans of shōjo and magical girls. I wouldn't place it on any top ten lists, and I probably won't remember much about it in 3 years, but there's no harm in that.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Chatting with Lijakaca about Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom

Hello friends! I'm sure you didn't actually think the Hakuoki release would come and go without me having something to say about it, right? Of course not! I was lucky enough to snag a review copy of the game for the ever-awesome Game Critics, but unfortunately it hasn't gone up on the site yet. But never fear – I have plenty of things to say about the game in the meantime.

First off, I had the fabulous oppertunity to ramble about Hakuoki and all things otome with the lovely Lijakaca of Lijakaca's Otome Gaming Blog. She is a mecca of otome gaming knowledge (her blog is a must follow for fans of otome games), so if you thought I knew what I was talking about, just you wait! (hint: I don't, usually) We had a great discussion about the game itself and also delved into otome game topics in general, so if any of that catches your fancy, I heartily suggest you check it out! Click on the handsome Hakuoki men below to give it a listen! Please be sure to tell me what you think in the comments... I'm still very new to podcasting, so any tips you may have that I can keep in mind for future endeavors would be greatly appreciated.


So what did I think of Hakuoki in the end? I'd like to save my final evaluation for the review when it goes up, but I do have some points in particular I can share:
  • As if you couldn't tell from the screenshots floating around the internet and the art above, the game looks gorgeous. Though I didn't find the music particularly memorable, it wasn't grating, either.
  • The story is engaging, and surprisingly in-depth, particularly for a game where many assume the main goal would be to hook up with the guy of your dreams. That incentive is there, but the romance aspect of the game is actually not quite as prevalent as I would have thought – a bit to my dismay, but will probably make the game more palatable to those who are not as interested in drooling over 2D hunks as I am. All in all, I think Aksys found a nice middle ground by choosing this as their first otome game. And yes, there is swearing!
  • Speaking of swearing, I was a bit iffy on the localization at times. Though it is undoubtedly written well, I couldn't help but feel that Hijikata swore a bit too much and some of the written dialogue just didn't match up with the spoken Japanese in a way that sat well with me. That said, it's throughly enjoyable and immersive for an English-speaking audience, and I get that that is what Aksys is going for. Kudos to their awesome editor and translators for not botching it up. 
  • So far, I've only "gotten" two of the six obtainable guys. I've done Heisuke's good and bad endings, and Hijikata's good ending. Though I liked Heisuke notably more than I liked Hijikata (he's a real jerk), I didn't find either of them to be particularly great. I hear Souji's where it's at, so I plan on making him my next conquest. For those of you wondering how much gameplay there is – one playthrough probably takes anywhere from 5-8 hours depending on who you choose, with Hijitaka's story being the longest. Once you've played through the 1st four chapters for one character, you'll probably want to skip through most of the dialogue during subsequent playthroughs, which cuts down on your play time significantly. 
All in all, I enjoyed my time with Hakuoki. I definitely suggest anyone who wants to try an otome game to pick it up, and would even recommend it to those who don't if they like a good story set in feudal Japan. My only wish was that it had more romance! And, in all honestly, a supernatural story mixed with historical fact isn't exactly my kind of thing, so I probably wouldn't have picked this up if it weren't for the fact that it was the first big name otome game to be released in English. 

But wait! Before you go, Video Game Writers is doing a giveaway where the prize is the game of your choice! So you could very well win a copy of Hakuoki, if you want! All you have to do is sign up for VGW on Google Currents for your iDevice or Android phone. An added bonus is you'll get to read news and reviews written by me (and some other people) in the palm of your hand! Neat, eh? 

Have any of you had a chance to play Hakuoki yet? If so, let me know what you thought! 

Friday, February 10, 2012

Tutorial: How to play Social Theatrhythm Final Fantasy online

If you're at all like me, you're chafing at the bit waiting for an announcement that Theatrhythm Final Fantasy will be released outside of Japan. With two demos now available for Japanese 3DS owners and the official release only a few days away, I for one am feeling even more anxious to get my hands on this adorable-looking title. 

Luckily for all of us lacking in the Japanese 3DS department, Square Enix has opened a special promotional website for the game where you can select a character and play along... It may not be anywhere close to the real Theatrhythm experience, but it's the best we're going to get for now! The site and game, called Social Theatrhythm, will be open until March 30th. Click on the link to head on over to the site, and use this tutorial so that you can join in the fun!

Upon loading the page, you should be treated to this: 

Click on the image to view a larger version
Before we get started, it should be noted that the "social" aspect of Theatrhythm requires you to allow the application to be linked to either your Twitter or Facebook account. I signed in using my Twitter, but either is fair game! 

Click the left-most orange link to get started! It's worth noting that the greyed-out link at the bottom that says "coming soon" will eventually lead to a number of promotional commercials and movies. Knowing Japan's knack for creating some of the wackiest and most adorable commercials in the world, it'll definitely be worth checking out later on. 

The next screen will have two options, highlighted in orange (sorry, I don't have a screenshot). It should be easy to make out – one will say "Twitter" and the other "Facebook" followed by some Japanese. This is where you select which account you would like to use to play the game. Clicking on the link will then take you to a pop-up window where you must authorize Social Theatrhythm to access your account. When it's finished, just close it and return to the previous window – if everything's linked correctly, then you should next be treated to the character select screen.


Now you're free to select the character of your choice out of the heroes from the numbered installments in the series. Click the left and right arrows and, when you're happy with your selection, simply click the orange button on the bottom there to proceed. I meant to select Zidane (the hero of my favorite Final Fantasy, of course!), but for some reason my web browser didn't register my click and went ahead and selected the Hero of Light for me. Bummer! 


Next you'll see your character profile page! There's my character, the Warrior of Light, on the left, and you can see I'm signed in as me from my avatar up there next to "apricotsushi" on the top. In order to level up your character, you must select the orange "training mode" button on the bottom and fight against your friends – or anyone who happens to pop up on the user list, really. Just for kicks I "fought" a level 2 Japanese Twitter user, and upon defeating them I had enough experience to level up to level 2. 

If you feel like kicking my butt with your rhythmic prowess, be sure to follow @apricotsushi over on Twitter! People who you are following will appear highest on the list, and even your friends who haven't signed up will appear with randomly-generated characters. I assume the system works the same for those of you who choose to sign in using Facebook, but I can't say for sure. Upon defeating a player, a message will pop up asking you if you want to post a status to your Twitter/Facebook – click the left button to simply return to your character screen, or if you want to really confuse your friends with a Japanese status update, go ahead and click the right one. 

After you've leveled up some, click on "monster mode" to go off and fight Final Fantasy monsters alongside other users!


The gameplay is pretty straightforward – simply click the mouse at the appropriate time to line up the colored circles over the grey one on the right to deal damage to the enemy. A miss results in your own HP being depleted. The screen is exactly how it would appear in the game, but as this is a browser-based game and not being played with the stylus, all you're required to do is click the mouse and occasionally click and hold it down for the longer actions. 

And there you have it! After defeating a few of the monsters, you'll be treated to a fight with the last boss, who's face takes on the appearance of a famous Japanese comedian. Some players who manage to defeat the final boss will be randomly selected to receive a free 3DS, but I'm sure you must be a resident of Japan to participate. I haven't gotten that far yet, but I'll let you know when I do!

If you leave the page and come back later, remember that you will need to authorize your account all over again, but this doesn't mean you'll start from scratch. After it's done doing its thing, you'll bypass the character selection screen and return to your profile page.

Be sure to tell me what you think of the game when you give it a go! Of course it's very rudimentary, but it's cute none the less, and you're treated to some snazzy Final Fantasy tunes. 

Let me know if you have any questions or experience any problems! 

Monday, February 6, 2012

Japan Envy: Tie-in merchandising

One thing I inexplicably love about Japan its merchandise. I'm sure tons of essays have been written on the subject before, but as I haven't read any of them, suffice it to say I don't really know why it is they do merchandise so well. Just that they do. Leave it to Japan to create the cutest products out of the most mundane household goods and combine Hello Kitty with just about anything you can imagine.

Yup, that's Hello Kitty dressed as an anime character (source)
This latest Japanese tie-in merchandising scheme is close to my heart for a number of reasons: First, it's combining books and video games, which are undoubtedly two of my favourite things. New Love Plus, the sequel to everyone's favourite Nintendo DS dating sim that has you interacting with your virtual girlfriend day in and day out, has put a new spin on things. In the game, you will be encouraged to read a book alongside your virtual gal in a series of in-game events, and she'll even ask you questions about the material as a way to gauge your interest. The three books chosen include Anne of Green Gables and two contemporary Japanese titles. While anyone could go pick up a second hand copy of these titles for next to nothing, Konami and Kodansha have a better idea: they're marketing limited New Love Plus-themed copies of the books.

Anne of Green Gables featuring one of the New Love Plus ladies (source)
The New Love Plus art will be on a dust jacket, so you will be able to remove it to see the original cover art underneath.

Now, the other reason this is so interesting to me is albeit a personal one: My mom is a big fan of Anne of Green Gables, and often cites it as a reason why she named me Anne (with an "e," of course!). We even ventured to her house up in Prince Edward Island (or is it the author's house?) back when I was too little to remember much of anything and spotted a Japanese couple getting married there! If you haven't noticed, Japan is in love with Anne of Green Gables. I think this must be some sort of sign.

Anyways, I totally dig this sort of cross merchandising, and yet the Japanese seem to consistently be the only ones who get it right. Even though I'm not really interested in New Love Plus, I might have been drawn to purchase said book... I often think it's a very good thing I don't live in Japan, as I'd be wallowing in piles of useless stuff.

What do you think – is tie-in merchandise corny, or cool?

Friday, February 3, 2012

Japan Envy: My Melody x Felnye

It's no secret that I'm enamored with the Monster Hunter series mascot Felnye. Admittedly, I have yet to actually play a Monster Hunter game (though I do own one), but I most certainly keep my eye out for all things Felnye. Cute is my calling, after all!

So when I saw Sanrio announced that they would be producing a special line of My Melody and Felnye merchandise that will hit Japanese stores starting in August, how could I not be excited? I mean, look at these designs:

source
I have to say I've never been a huge fan of Kuromi (the back and white one), but man, those pink and brown critters are to die for. I particularly like the left design, which is a Felnye dressed up as My Melody, if you're wondering. I'm not sure what it is about animals wearing other animal's faces that is so endearing, but believe me, I am sold.

Monster Hunter Diary G already had some My Melody downloadable content last year, so this crossover is by no means a surprise. Now, however, legions of men, women, and children across Japan will be able to purchase Felnye and My Melody in the form of accessories, clothing, stationary, and probably just about anything you can imagine. For an idea of what the goods will look like, check out this Hello Kitty x Felnye series that ran last year:


It's good that I'm learning about this so far in advance... I'll have plenty of time to arrange how I'm going to get my hands on a Felnye x My Melody plush! 

Do any of these designs tickle your fancy? 

Monday, January 30, 2012

Arrietty Impressions

First of all, I have to apologize once again for the huge gap between posts! My husband and I flew down to Sydney for Chinese New Year and instead of catching up on things I needed to do, I completely zoned out and didn't do anything but eat and play through Rayman Origins a second time with Shaun and his sister (I think I've had enough now).


This is a long time coming, but a couple of weeks ago Shaun and I made the 5 minute trek to the movie theater (one of the many perks of our new apartment) to see Studio Ghibli's Arrietty (Japanese title: 借りぐらしのアリエッティ, also known as The Secret World of Arrietty in the US) over opening weekend. As always, the rest of the world is a bit behind Japan – Arrietty originally aired in its home country back in July 2010, and the most recent Studio Ghibli film, From Up on Poppy Hill, aired this past summer in Japan. For once, Australia was ahead of the game, with the film releasing here a whole month before it debuts in the US on February 17th.

Arrietty (I will refer to it by the Australian title since that's the version I saw) is based on Mary Norton's classic novel The Borrowers, about a family of extremely tiny people who live beneath a normal-sized family's house. They survive by scavenging what they can from their surroundings and "borrowing" things from regular humans, only taking what they are sure will not be missed such as an extra tissue or a safety pin that has been lost and forgotten beneath a dresser. Interestingly, this film marks the directorial debut of Hiromasa Yonebashi, a key animator of a number of Studio Ghibli films and the youngest director of a Studio Ghibli production to date. He also was the key animator of Serial Experiments Lain, one of my favorite anime!

Since the subtitled version wasn't shown anywhere in our area, we had to settle with the British dubbed version. The film has been licensed separately for the US and Europe/Australia, the so English voice actors are completely different for the two regions. Honestly, given the film's beginnings as a British novel, I found it quite refreshing to hear the characters speak with non-American accents. There were a handful of times where the localization felt odd to me, but that could have been due to the British influence. I look forward to hearing the original Japanese language track when the film comes out on DVD.

Can I have a room that looks like this?
Unfortunately I haven't read The Borrowers, so I can't comment on how it compares to the book, but if it's anything like Howl's Moving Castle, you can expect a pretty liberal interpretation. Fans of My Neighbor Totoro will be right at home in the lush, green environments and relatively slow pacing, where those who prefer the unique locations and higher level of action in Spirited Away or Princess Mononoke may find this Studio Ghibli offering a little too "mundane." I found myself highly appreciative of the attention to detail put in to making the world look believable from the eyes of a Borrower. From stamps serving as paintings in the tiny house to the variety of insects Arrietty interacts with over the course of the film, everything felt fresh and different and was a joy to see come to life with Ghibli's signature flair.

One of my favorite scenes in the film had to be when Arrietty meets Sho, a sick boy sent to rest at the house about Arrietty's home, up close for the first time. Arrietty is on her first borrowing excursion with her father, and one of her tasks is to grab a tissue out of a tissue box on Sho's bedside table. The moment of confrontation – Arrietty looking up to see Sho's wide, bright eyes staring directly at her, was startling for both her and me as a viewer. Watching Arrietty try in vain to hide behind the tissue (a background light illuminates her body quite clearly) was both endearing and heartbreaking – she knows she is never supposed to be seen by a human, and she is disappointed by her failure during her first trip out with her father.

The music in the film was not done by regular Ghibli composer Joe Hisaishi, but newcomer Cécile Corbel, a French musician who is reportedly a big fan of Studio Ghibli. Apparently, she sent them a CD of her songs as a fan, and the company was intrigued by her work and subsequently invited her to do the soundtrack for Arrietty. Sounds like a fairy tale story, eh? She did both the theme, titled simply "Arrietty's Song," as well as the rest of the background music. The Celtic themes really mesh well with the general feel of the film, and though I was a little miffed by the silly English lyrics of Arrietty's Song ("I am fourteen years old, I am pretty"? Did a fourteen-year-old write it?), I still found it very enjoyable. The full English version is what accompanied the version of the film I saw, but the majority of the song was in Japanese for the original film.


All in all, I really enjoyed Arrietty. I've heard criticisms that it was too slow, or simply not as amazing as previous Studio Ghibli films, but frankly, if you are at all interested in Ghibli, you definitely need to see Arrietty on the big screen and decide for yourself. Some have compared it to My Neighbor Totoro, and while I don't think it quite surpasses the caliber of some of my favorite Ghibli films, it is definitely now up there at the top of my list. The animation and music were both gorgeous, and I found the story bittersweet and touching. If the company can churn out films this good without Miyazaki at the helm, I'm confident that even when he's gone they'll continue to make some of the best animated features the world has ever seen.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

VISI DAN MISI PROGRAM STUDI S1 Pendidikan Teknik Elektro Universitas Negeri surabaya

Visi Program Studi:
Program studi S1 Pendidikan Teknik Elektro UNESA memiliki visi menjadi program studi yang profesional, berdaya saing tinggi, berwawasan internasional dan mampu mewujudkan diri terhadap perubahan.
Misi Program Studi:
    Misi program studi S1 Pendidikan Teknik Elektro Universitas Negeri surabaya :
     A. Menyelenggarakan pendidikan, pengajaran dan bimbingan dalam bidang Pendidikan Teknik Elektro secara optimal sesuai dengan potensi yang dimiliki. 
    B. Melaksanakan dan meningkatkan penelitian serta mengembangkan bidang keilmuan Pendidikan Teknik Elektro secara aktif dan berkesinambungan dalam persaingan internasional. 
    C. Menerapkan hasil penelitian dan pengembangan bidang keilmuan Pendidikan Teknik Elektro kepada masyarakat. 
    D. Mengembangkan kerja sama dengan masyarakat terinstitusi baik nasional maupun internasional. 
    E. Mengembangkan kompetensi yang sesuai dengan kebutuhan pasar kerja.

Pendidikan Teknik Elektro 98 UNESA

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Japan Envy: Limited edition game consoles, Kingdom Hearts edition

Sometimes I feel like I could just throw my money in Square Enix's general direction. I know that's a funny thing to say, given my recent disdain for certain Final Fantasy titles that will not be mentioned, but for some reason I keep going back to Square Enix for more, particularly when it comes to Kingdom Hearts. The release date and a limited edition 3DS for the latest Kingdom Hearts title have been announced, and I am really liking the 3DS's design.
source
Even if you don't like Kingdom Hearts, you've got to admit that's a pretty sleek design! I particularly like the pink crown and the contrast it provides. Now, I've never bought a limited edition console before, and I'm definitely not going to start here, but that won't stop me drooling over it a little bit.

Kingdom Hearts 3D will be released on March 29th in Japan, which is soon enough that I think it's high time we catch wind of a localization (c'mon, it's bound to happen). Of course, if you want the 3DS, you're going to have to import. The first print run of the game will also include a limited edition AR card, which unlocks a difficult to obtain Dream Eater in the game.

Square Enix also sent out a few new screenshots for the game. One, in particular, is pretty interesting to me:


Now maybe I've been out of the loop, but I honestly didn't realize Axel would be in the game (those of you who've played Kingdom Hearts should know why). Admittedly I was a bit of an Axel fangirl back in the day, so it's nice to see him make a comeback.

EDIT: Well, it has quickly come to my attention that I am incorrect! That's not Axel, but Lea, as is evident in his lack of certain distinct facial markings. I haven't played enough of Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep to know much about Lea, and I won't spoil it for you all, but needless to say he isn't all that different from Axel. Now finishing Birth By Sleep before Kingdom Hearts 3D comes out is a top priority! 

Though I should probably know better than to get too excited for a Kingdom Hearts title these days, I'm going to continue to be optimistic for this one. Are any of you planning on picking it up when it comes out? 

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

The Great 2011 Holiday Haul


I get my jollies from finding games marked down like this. I actually scored this one for $14
Before I begin, I must clarify that by "holiday" I am referring from the month period between mid-December and mid-January. Truth be told, there was only one game waiting for me under the tree Christmas morning (Mario Kart 7), but I did acquire quite a number of titles with Christmas/birthday money and the after holiday sales. But enough of that, on to the games!

That's a lot of Wii games...
Amazingly enough, all of the games I purchased are not included in the above picture. Not pictured are Alice: Madness Returns, Shadows of the Damned, Rayman Origins (all three received from a sweet Twitter friend who works at EA Australia), Cursed Mountain (which I bought today), and Fatal Frame II, which is currently en route (an online order). Oh, and it's also worth noting that Sakura Wars~So Long, My Love~ was also given to me by another awesome Twitter friend who happened to have an extra copy. I cannot wait to try it out!

Out of all my purchases, I'm most excited for Little King's Story and The Legend of Starfy. I have been waiting to find a copy of Starfy new for $20 or less for ages now, and I got mine for $14! Oh, do I love a good deal. Little King's Story is quite hard to find in Australia these days, and I scored it for $13 used at an EB Games, but since I traded in the copy of Mario Kart Wii I got with my Wii console (sad, I know, but I don't think I'll play it now that I have MK7. Anyone want an extra Wii wheel, feel free to ask in the comments), I got it for free!

Endless Ocean 2Cursed Mountain, and Rayman Origins are the only games I've played so far, and Rayman Origins is really the only one I've spent a significant amount of time with. I won't go into too much detail, but as I mentioned in a previous post, it's definitely one of my favorite games that came out in 2011!! As for Endless Ocean 2 and Cursed Mountain, I've only played about 1 hour of each, so I can't really give my impressions of those yet. With Endless Ocean 2 I have to say I was a bit disappointed by the above water sequences, and some of the goofy tasks it has you do, like fend off sharks with a signature Wiimote waggle. The scuba diving (which is the meat of the game, of course) is great fun, though. Cursed Mountain has a really great atmosphere so far, and I'm really digging the icy mountain setting. I'm a chicken when it comes to horror games, though, so I don't want to play it by myself, or in the dark! Way to ruin the mood, I know...

How come no one told me there was a Princess Apricot in Little King's Story?
Clearly she is going to be my new favorite character
So, I know it's a bit late, but did any of you get any games over the holidays, or make any game purchases that you've been enjoying lately? January's a good month to catch up on one's backlog, I think. So, what have you been spending your time with?

Sunday, January 15, 2012

4 games I'm looking forward to in 2012

This post is coming a tad bit late, but who said I had to follow the herd, eh? As the title suggests, I've wrangled up a few games that I'm particularly looking forward to in this hopefully epic year of the dragon. It should come to no surprise to any of you that all of these are Japanese games. I am very predictable.


Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance


Or Kingdom Hearts 3D, as it is also known... Get it?? Ahaha... Anyways, pretty much anyone save die-hard fans will tell you that Kingdom Hearts has been on a downward spiral littered with obsolete and downright unnecessary plot threads with still no true Kinghdom Hearts 3 (that 3D may be as close as we're ever going to get). But I've been playing some Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep over the holidays and I have to say, its rekindled my Kingdom Hearts spark. And besides... The World Ends with You character appearances? A Hunchback of Notre Dame world? I was in before Disney could utter "Frollo."

Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom


Why look, it's another predictable title on Anne's list. I think all that needs to be said here is "first major English otome game." If you want to read more about otome games, I've written plenty about it. Here's a sample of what I'm looking forward to:


Theatrhythm Final Fantasy


Dream Drop Distance, Theatrhythm... Japan will never get over its absurd use of English in game titles. If you're wondering, the official Japanese site states that "theatrhythm" is a combination of "theater" and "rhythm." Well, it helped me remember exactly how to spell the title, at least.


As a fan of both rhythm games and Final Fantasy, this one is yet again another no-brainer for me. I am decidedly not a big fan of the cutesy art style used in the game's character art, but I'd be willing to overlook that if the game plays as well as I'm hoping. And with three different modes to play all of my favorite Final Fantasy songs in, it should provide many hours of fun.

Pokémon x Nobunaga's Ambition

Admittedly, I'm a bit of a shameless Pokémon fan. Okay, there's not much shame in that, as most of my video game loves are based on silly reasoning, but here's one to take the cake: After I saw these two character designs from Pokémon x Nobunaga's Ambition, I was sold. Also, Pokémon combined with feudal Japan? A fresh take on the old Pokémon formula? Sign me up!

 

Of course, there are plenty of other great looking titles that I am very much looking forward to this year, including, but not limited to: Atelier Meruru: Apprentice of Arland, Final Fantasy Type-0, Rhythm Heaven Fever, and Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure. 2012 is looking to be a great year indeed!